Retour
GB1012738

York, Grande Bretagne

Our house (the blue gate!)

Our house (the blue gate!)

Our house (the blue gate!)
Bronze

Membre depuis

2016


ouvert aux échanges actuellement

aucune disponibilité renseignée

Family terrace house within easy walking distance of centre of York

Our home is a traditional Victorian period townhouse in a terrace in the city of York. It is typical of the 1890's when the city was growing rapidly and whole new neighbourhoods were built. We live in a lovely, friendly neighbourhood with great local shops and cafes and a park just down the road. It's easy to walk into the centre of town, to the train station or stroll along the river or city walls.

The house is well maintained with four bedrooms over three floors and will sleep 6. On the first floor is are two double bedrooms and the bathroom. On the second floor are the kid's two single bedrooms. On the ground floor are a kitchen, dining room and sitting room. There is a small front garden and larger back yard with room for relaxing and shed for bikes and outdoor toys.

The house is full of the kind of things you'd expect with two children, toys, games, xbox etc. We don't have baby equipment any longer, but may well be able to borrow things you might need.

We are active cyclists and get around the city by bike. We've four bikes in the shed which will be available to use, along with scooters for younger children.

We'd love to set up an exchange for Christmas 2018. Somewhere in Europe or Scandinavia, either sunny or snowy.

Lire plus

La famille

  • 2 Adultes
  • 2 Enfants
  • 2 Échange(s) réalisé(s) précédemment

Profession / Occupation

  • University academics

Le logement

  • Type de logement: maison
  • Environnement : en ville
  • Chambres: 4
  • Salles de bain: 1
  • Nombre de couchages: 6

Les références d'échange

Particularités

  • Animaux domestiques - NON Refusés
  • Enfants en bas-âge - OUI - Acceptés

Transactions proposées

  • Échange de maisons

Confort intérieur

  • accès internet
  • ordinateur à disposition
  • chauffage central
  • jeux et jouets
  • lave-linge
  • lave-vaisselle
  • sèche-linge
  • télévision
  • guitare

Confort extérieur

  • jardin
  • aire de jeux, parc
  • vélos: 4

Équipements

  • non fumeur
  • animaux domestiques à garder

Destinations demandées

  • Bavaria, Germany
  • Switzerland
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Scotland, UK
  • Val d'Aran, Lleida, Spain
  • Rhone-Alpes, France
  • Franche-Comté, France
  • Auvergne, France
  • Tenerife, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
  • Catalonia, Spain

Langues parlées

  • Anglais

Carte de situation géographique et informations complémentaires

Aéroport le plus proche: Leeds Bradford - 32 miles

We are located right on Bishopthorpe Road, winner of UK high street of the year in 2015. It is a wonderful local community with all the shops you need (grocers, bakers, butchers, cafes etc) with 5mins walk. We are just outside the ancient walls of the city of York, about 10mins walk into the town centre.

3mins walk from us is Rowntree Park, excellent for younger children, and also some lovely walks along the river.

York itself is beautiful, with lots of sights to see and things to do. There are lots of small shops, interesting streets and attractions such as the city walls and York Minster. The city has everything you'd expect in terms of museums, restaurants, cinema, theatre etc.

Around York the countryside is gorgeous, especially the Yorkshire Dales, Yorkshire Wolds and North York Moors. You can visit the seaside too on the bus or the train.

It's relatively easy to get to York: Leeds is 20mins away by train, London 2hours. Manchester Airport is on a direct train route and it's possible to get to Leeds Bradford Airport by public transport too.

Profession / Occupation

  • University academics

Enfants

  • Garçon - âge: 15
  • Garçon - âge: 13

Animaux domestiques

  • Cat : 'Magic'
  • Tropical fish

Informations sur la famille

We are a family of four (plus a cat called 'Magic')

The adults are Matthew and Alison. We both work in universities in York, Matthew in Theatre, Alison in Environment.

The children are Nate (13) and Aidan (10). Nate is at secondary school and likes reading, coding and taking things apart. Aidan is at primary school and likes parkour, animals and reading.

Magic is a tabby cat who is happy to come and go as he pleases but will love you for ever if you give him some milk and tickle him under the chin. We also have some tropical fish, who need feeding each day.

We're an active family and would like to exchange to places where we can spend time outdoors. We particularly like mountains and coasts. We've done home exchanges before from our previous home and a couple from our present house are looking forward to doing it again.

Le style de vie

We enjoy both city and countryside activities, particularly keen on cycling, walking, sailing, climbing, canoeing.... in other words being active outdoors.

We also enjoy cultural activities, such as going to the theatre, cinema and museums.

We don't have a car, which works very well in York as everything is accessible by bike or public transport. For visit to the countryside we hire a car.

Les références d'échange

Ce membre a réalisé au moins 2 échanges Intervac auparavant. Voici quelques-uns de ses échanges réalisés :