Retour
GB48330

Glasgow, Grande Bretagne

Bronze

Membre depuis

2019


ouvert aux échanges actuellement
Dates de disponibilités Durée
August 21, 2019 - June 30, 2020 1 months

Our house will be available to guests in August.

Glasgow City Centre 3-Bedroom

Our flat is located in Glasgow City Centre, and feels more like a house. Three bedrooms and two bathrooms over 2 stories, with a large living room with patio and a large kitchen. It is located within walking distance of Sauchiehall Street and only a few minutes' walk from two different subway stations. If you're looking for a great base to explore Scotland with no need for a car, our house is ideal.

The house comprises a very large living room with a patio through sliding-glass doors. The patio is furnished, but remember the weather in Scotland can be unpredictable! There is a WC downstairs and a large kitchen with plenty of cooking space along with an American-size fridge. The bedroom on the ground floor is past the kitchen and the most private room in the house, equipped with a lock. However, this building did not have insulation so this room has a space heater for cooler nights.

Upstairs, the master bedroom overlooks the school. Another bedroom on the other side of the landing overlooks the carpark. In between them is a full bath including bathtub. Electricity is on a key meter and must be taken to a local shop to top up when it runs out.

Our house is fairly basic as it served students and was the base for a local film and theatre company. Therefore, it is not luxurious, but serviceable. We certainly have loved it and have wonderful memories of our time here. Its informal nickname is 'The Embassy' because of how many artists and actors and writers called this place their home over the years. If you understand that the house is one that was mainly used as a gathering-place for students and artists, then you will enjoy your time here.

The house is located in an ideal position to explore various parts of Glasgow. Two subway stations are in walking distance, the City Centre is about 15 minutes away via a path behind the building on foot, and there are grocery stores (Lidl, M&S, Tesco) in walking distance too. You can explore the Great Western Road, Kelvingrove Park, the University of Glasgow, and Ashton Lane within a half-hour walk.

Behind the house, one of the oldest Victorian baths in the UK is still open and offers a swim or gym for around 3.50/pp per day.

Experience shopping on Buchanan Street, enjoying delicious Thai dinner at Chaophraya, and ending the night in sophistication at the Corinthian. If you're using Glasgow as a base to explore Scotland, both Glasgow Central and Queen Street are in walking distance of the flat, and you can get to Edinburgh within an hour, or to points north in the Scottish Highlands, or to Stirling to experience the Wallace Monument and the history of Scottish independence.

Our house is function over form, but it's also city centre living at its best.

Lire plus

La famille

  • 2 Adultes
  • 0 Enfants
  • 1 Échange(s) réalisé(s) précédemment

Profession / Occupation

  • Video Game Designer
  • Writer

Le logement

  • Type de logement: appartement
  • Environnement : en ville
  • Chambres: 3
  • Salles de bain: 2
  • Nombre de couchages: 7

Les références d'échange

Particularités

  • Animaux domestiques - NON Refusés
  • Enfants en bas-âge - OUI - Acceptés

Transactions proposées

  • Échange de longue durée
  • Échange non-simultané
  • Échange de maisons
  • Logement proposé à la location

Confort intérieur

  • accès internet
  • lave-linge
  • lave-vaisselle

Confort extérieur

  • terrasse

Destinations demandées

  • Ouvert à toutes destinations
  • French Polynesia
  • Seoul, South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Fiji
  • France
  • Spain
  • Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
  • Ireland

Langues parlées

  • Anglais

Carte de situation géographique et informations complémentaires

Aéroport le plus proche: Glasgow International -

Our neighbourhood is fairly quiet, a council estate that is half owners, half housing. One of the UK's oldest Victorian baths is behind our house. There is a 24-hour store in walking distance, and various grocery stores (Lidl, Tesco, M&S) a little further away on foot.

Profession / Occupation

  • Video Game Designer
  • Writer

Enfants

  • Aucun enfant

Animaux domestiques

  • aucun animal de compagnie

Les références d'échange

Ce membre a réalisé au moins 1 échanges Intervac auparavant. Voici quelques-uns de ses échanges réalisés :