Marseille, France


Membre depuis


pas d'échange possible pour le moment

aucune disponibilité renseignée

**Warm, sunny place by the Med, ideally located to discover all of Provence (seaside, calanques, museums, monuments, picturesque Provençal villages and markets, vineyards, olive trees, lavender fields... and much more!)**

We don't mind driving to neighbouring countries if you don't feel like exchanging your car. We can also exchange cars, we have a car which you can use to explore Provence. If you'd rather enjoy all the monuments, museums, etc... in Marseille a car isn't really necessary, you can walk to the town centre (20mns), use our bikes or the public transit which is very good: there is a public bicycle sharing system with bicycle racks throughtout the city and the subway, the tramway and the buses cover the entire city )

Marseille is a beautiful historical town founded by the Greek circa 600 BC on the shore of the Med. Whether you are interested in spending your holidays on the beach (usual sea temperature in summer: 25°/26°) visiting museums, fine monuments and historical places, walking in the Provençal landscape (Natural Area of Outstanding Beauty), discovering typical places (Chateau d'If, Cassis, Camargues and its Nature Reserve, Luberon, Porquerolle Island, Frioul Island...) visiting vineyards, dicovering the coast or inland places of interest, shopping, dining out or just relaxing in the garden, you'll find many enjoyable things to do here!

Here are some comprehensive websites about the area you may find interesting:

We live in a comfortable, quiet, large (160 square metres =1700 ft square), 19th century, two-storey, period town house appartment with a welcoming, south-facing, private walled garden and a Provençal, stone, 35 square metres "maisonnette" (this annexe used to be the servants' quarters, it is now our second sitting room / study / fourth bedroom) at the back of the garden. Our home is filled with period features (cornices, high ceilings, tiles, period fire place...) but it has recently been extensively renovated. We are a mere 10 mns drive to the nearest beach. There are dozens to choose from all along the coast, eastwards towards the Côte d'Azur, or westwards towards the Côte Bleue. We have an average of more than 300 days of sunshine a year here in Provence!

We live in a pleasant part of town which is popular with both couples and families: there are lots of cafés and restaurants with sunny outdoor terrasses as well as playgrounds and green spaces.  It is a lively place to live in with a villagey atmosphere and a community spirit. We've been living here for 18 years and we love it. Our street is residential and peaceful yet we are within very easy walking distance (a couple of minutes) to  local shops: several bakeries (pop out in the morning to buy your fresh baguette or your croissants), butchers', convenience stores, a cheese shop, a wine shop, a delicatessen, three greengrocers, two florists...) There's also a great outdoor Provençal market three times a week selling locally grown fresh fruit and vegetables, olives, fish and all sorts of typically Provençal products. It's a mere 5 minutes' walk away. There's no need to use the car during your stay if you don't feel like it.

 Our garden isn't big but it's south-facing, quiet and peaceful and a haven for birds. It's filled with Mediterranean vegetation: laurels, bougainvilleas, lavenders, lemongrass, plum tree, peach tree (both delicious and ripe in July so you'll be able to help yourself and enjoy!), grapes, an imposing olive tree...There's a BBQ,  a garden table and chairs on the patio, (a smaller table and chairs on the terrasse, too) and several deckchairs. We've got a table-tennis table, too. The garden is perfect for sunbathing during the day or al fresco dining. It's a great place to chill out when coming back from the beach or sight-seeing or to spend time relaxing if you feel like staying in .

 We have 3 large bedrooms. (The outbuilding can also be used as a fourth bedroom). Our children's bedrooms have a bed (a double bed in our son's bedroom, an adult single bed in our daughter's bedroom), a comfortable sofa in each bedroom, a couple of bookshelves filled with scores of books, most of them in English... Our bedroom has a king-sized bed, an armchair and a beautiful walk-in dressing room...  It has just been entirely redone (flooring, painting, lights).

There are 2 new bathrooms and a kitchen which has recently been completely refurbished and renovated. It has all mod cons.

There's also a library downstairs: we absolutely love reading and have more than 1800 books, most of them in English so you'll be able to read as much as you like while sunbathing on the beach or relaxing in the garden if you feel like it (or by the fireplace if we swap houses in winter)! 

The sitting room has a working period fireplace- which is very pleasant and welcoming in winter-, ancient tiles on the floor and ceiling with cornices. It opens on a large terrasse overlooking the garden. It's a comfortable room with several armchairs and sofa for quality time together. There's a LCD TV (with Sky + HD if you want to keep up with home news), a DVD player, a Bluray player, lots of books, magazines and DVDs.

We also have an outbuilding at the bottom of the garden (it used to be the servants' quarters). We had it renovated a couple of years ago: it's a large second living room as well as an office as you'll find our desks there with our computers: both have unlimited (high speed) broadband access. There are also lots of books there (of course!!!), as well as boardgames, a second TV set, a Wii, a second DVD player, Yann's beloved pinball machine. It's a relaxing family room to spend time in and it remains quite fresh in summer thanks to the new materials used for the renovation. We can add a bed in this room if needed.

We've got a car (Peugeot 307) available for exchange (but are not adverse to driving instead of flying when exchanging with a neighbouring country). If you are not interested in a car exchange the transit system is excellent.

There are several beautiful parks in Marseille, by the sea or inland. The nearest one is a mere 15 minutes walk from home or 5 minutes by tram. You can spend hours there: it offers free outdoor jazz concerts in summer, a natural sciences museum, lovely shaded walks, several playgrounds, a small theatre, a huge fountain, the most beautiful view on the city (see photo)...

Marseille received the "European City of the year Award 2014"!!!

Nous habitons dans le quartier de La Plaine à Marseille. C'est un quartier qui plait beaucoup aux familles comme aux couples sans enfant car il est très agréable: très vivant et calme à la fois, on a l'impression d'habiter un village à l'intérieur de Marseille. Proche du centre ville (15 mns de marche) mais un peu en hauteur (70 m au dessus du niveau de la mer, 35 mns à pieds de la plage la plus proche). La voiture n'est pas nécessaire: boulangeries, boucheries, fromageries, marchés, restaurants, cafés avec terrasses ensoleillées, aires de jeux, écoles... tout se fait à pied. Nous sommes cependant très bien desservis par les transports en commun: tramway, bus, métro.
Nous habitons le quartier depuis 21 ans et avons emménagé il y a 7 ans dans un grand appartement ancien de 160 m2 sur 2 étages avec jardin et maison de fond. Notre maison allie le charme de l'ancien (hauts plafonds, corniches, cheminées en marbre, cellier...) avec tout le confort moderne: Les 2 salles de bain et la cuisine viennent d'être entièrement refaites ainsi que toutes les peintures...
Le jardin est plein sud et à l'abri des regards: il y a beaucoup de végétation provençale: un énorme olivier, 3 bougainvillées, de la lavande, de la citronnelle, des jasmins, des chèvre-feuilles, un laurier rose, des rosiers. Il y a également un arbre de Judée, un beau prunier. Les 2 terrasses qui donnent sur le jardin sont ombragées par de belles vignes. Il y est très agréable de prendre son petit déjeuner. Un barbecue, une table + chaises, des chaises longues, une table de ping-pong permettent de passer de bons moments dans le jardin.

Mon mari, nos deux enfants et moi sommes de grands lecteurs et vous trouverez donc plus de 2000 livres chez nous (beaucoup écrits en anglais) mais il y a aussi 2 télés (avec accès aux chaines britanniques et certaines chaines américaines) et lecteurs de DVD, une wii, des jeux de société et un magnifique flipper!
(Notre accès internet est TRES rapide et nous avons Free, vous pourrez donc utiliser notre téléphone en toute quiétude).
Marseille est une belle ville à l'histoire très riche et il y a donc quantité de monuments, musées, édifices religieux, ruines grecques à découvrir. Si vous voulez visiter tout ce que la Provence a à offrir en dehors de Marseille, nous pouvons échanger la voiture, nous avons une Peugeot 307. Cassis, Aix-en-Provence, le Frioul, le Château d'If, Carry-le-Rouet, Sausset-les-Pins, Martigues la Venise Provençale, la Camargues, Nîmes et ses arènes, Arles Antique,le Lubéron, Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, les Baux de Provence, Roussillon, l'île de Porquerolles... sont tout proches!
Si la plage vous intéresse, il y a plusieurs kms de littoral, sable fin, galets, calanques, il y en a pour tous les goûts, plages publiques ou privées, et avec plus de 300 jours de soleil par an on peut en profiter à longueur d'année.


Lire plus

La famille

  • 4 Adultes
  • 0 Enfants
  • 41 Échange(s) réalisé(s) précédemment

Profession / Occupation

  • Lecturer
  • Lecturer

Le logement

  • Type de logement: appartement
  • Étage/Niveau: 2
  • Environnement : en bord de mer
  • Chambres: 3
  • Salles de bain: 2
  • Nombre de couchages: 5

Les références d'échange


  • Animaux domestiques - NON Refusés
  • Enfants en bas-âge - OUI - Acceptés

Transactions proposées

  • Échange de maisons

Confort intérieur

  • accès internet
  • ordinateur à disposition
  • chauffage central
  • cheminée
  • lave-linge
  • lave-vaisselle
  • télévision

Confort extérieur

  • jardin
  • terrasse
  • balcon
  • aire de jeux, parc
  • barbecue
  • garage, parking (à préciser)
  • vélos: 5


  • non fumeur
  • prêt/échange de voiture
  • animaux domestiques à garder

Destinations demandées

  • San Francisco, CA, USA
  • New York, NY, USA
  • Boston, MA, USA
  • Virginia, USA
  • York, York, York, UK
  • United States
  • Japan
  • Las Vegas, NV, USA
  • England, UK

Langues parlées

  • Anglais
  • Français

Profession / Occupation

  • Lecturer
  • Lecturer


  • Aucun enfant

Animaux domestiques

  • We have a very gentle cat called Minette. She spends her days sunbathing in the garden. She eats only dry food and will need her bowls topped up once a day.

Les références d'échange